Baptisms, Birthdays, and the Vaccination Debate

Saturday was the kind of day that takes awhile to recover from (especially for a pregnant, worn-out, momma of three). We had two major events Saturday–my niece’s baptism at nine in the morning (no sleeping in for me!), and W’s birthday party at dinner time. In between was a blur of cleaning, food preparation, and general party preparation

Having already taken W~ to the local mega-store to look at party decorations, we knew that we would be having a Spider Man theme. Of course, I hadn’t initially planned on it being quite as Spiderific as it turner out. Everything I got for him involved Spider Man. Everything. The decorations, the candle for his cake, the “Pin the mask on Spider Man” game (I am not making that up), the wrapping paper, and ALL of his presents from us–as well as some from other family members. He loved it.

Birthday parties for my children are strictly a family affair. I don’t feel like they are old enough to really get into having their friends over, so we keep it to a more intimate setting. That means, this time around, that we had 25 people. Yep, for us, that is intimate. The joys of having grandparents, great-grandparents, aunts, uncles, and cousins all within driving distance. And we didn’t even have everyone there. It was, to say the least, chaotic. Thank heavens that we have a big yard. Thank heavens that our almost-twelve-year-old nephew really likes to do “hay rides” in the wagon behind our tractor through the woods in the back yard. Even when it got dark enough for them to all come in, we had the magical Spider Man game (I could not believe how excited the OLDER kids got about playing this), and my brother-in-law’s slightly creepy game of “Sally Says.” Imagine a 32-year-old man making a stuffed cow talk in an old woman’s voice. The kids loved it, even the 10 and 12-year-olds.

By the time everyone left, I felt like I could barely stand. My back problems are definitely worse with this pregnancy. I really need to start going to the chiropractor again. I saw a chiropractor when I was pregnant with W~. The woman was a life-saver. I had been in extreme pain from rib injuries I got in a car accident years before. I saw three medical doctors and a physical therapist after it happened. They eventually gave up on fixing the problem after about a year of treatment. It took the chiropractor three weeks. That was it. I have never had a single problem with my ribs since then. That and the fact that I would waddle into her office, then WALK back out, made me a believer. Small children, however, have kept me from going back since W~ was born. I need to.

Julie, over at The Calm Before the Stork, has me thinking about vaccinations again. So far, all of my children have gotten their shots (mostly) on time. Every time, however, it scares me. I’m just not completely convinced of their safety. I am thinking about buying this book to try and sort out how I want to do it this time around. I know this is a hot-button topic, and I would love to know what other people think about it. Are you vaccinating your kids? Are you doing all of the vaccinations, or just some of them (for instance, I refuse to get flu shots, and I will not let them give my newborns the HepB vaccine in the hospital). If you are doing shots, are you going with the normal shot schedule, or using a modified one? What are your reasons for the choices you have made?

1 Comment

Filed under Kids, Pain, vaccinations

One response to “Baptisms, Birthdays, and the Vaccination Debate

  1. e

    I have four children, ages 15, 11, 5 and 6 months, none of which has ever had a vaccination. I did an awful lot of reading and research to arrive at the decision not to vaccinate and I have never regretted it. I didn’t see which book you are thinking of reading, but I definitely recommend investigating so that you can come to your own conclusion and not solely rely on the prevalent attitude that you “have to or else.”

Leave a Reply

