The Newspaper Article

Well, I got one more surprise in relation to the newspaper article on the blankies. When I read it last night online I supposed, based on its relative brevity, that it would be buried somewhere in the “Local” section. My mother brought me the paper this morning and, well, it wasn’t buried. Actually, it is the lead story on the front page (OK, we live near two SMALL cities, and this is the paper of the smaller one, but still–I really wasn’t expecting this). So I am torn. There is a part of me that acknowledges that it is kind of neat for them to make it a “big story,” but I still wish that it was a story that included all of the people who are helping to make it possible. Especially now that it was on the front page–how cool would that have been for my teenage girls?

Anyhow, I have been debating whether to post the text of the article all day. Partially because it isn’t the story I would have written and partially because it is full of identifying information. I decided that I could replace full names with just first names for adults, and just identify the kids by their blog monikers. So, after redacting enough information to make the Clinton library proud, here is the full article:

National adoption month

‘Blankie Buddies’ give comfort, security for orphans

By Bridgette

Staff Writer

Tuesday, November 20, 2007

B~ TWP. — Nine-month-old Tank Boy came to the United States from Korea with only the clothes on his little back, one extra diaper and a bottle.

Three years later, Tank Boy is a happy 3-year-old surrounded by everything a growing boy could need — namely love.

But his family still remembers how one little Korean baby came to a foreign place with nothing to call his own.

“When the kids come here, they come with nothing,” said Katie, Tank Boy’s aunt. “They don’t have toys or blankets or any kind of comfort objects.”

Katie also has an adopted son, N~, from the U.S., and thinking of a community service project for her church inspired her to do something for orphans.

She enlisted the help of her mother, B~ Twp. trustee Nancy, and Tank Boy’s mother, Elaine, to make “Blankie Buddies” for orphans.

The two-month project comes right on time too, as November is National Adoption Awareness month, Nancy said.

The mother-and-daughters team hope the blankets, which resemble a stuffed animal and a quilt rolled into one, will be given to orphans in a grass roots effort to provide comfort they can keep with them, Katie explained.

Tank Boy will soon be getting a little brother from Vietnam, in addition to his three sisters who are biologically Elaine’s, and some of the blankets will go to the Vietnamese orphanage.

“They’ll take as many (blankets) as can fit into their suitcase,” said Elaine about her husband and her mother, who will go pick up six-month-old Quinn from Vietnam as soon as they cut through all the red tape of international adoption.

Nancy hopes “Blankie Buddies” project makes people aware that everyone can help children in need, even in a small way.

“There’s something we all can do,” she said.

The article was accompanied by two large pictures–one of my nephew holding a blankie, the other of my mother sewing with all of my and my sister’s kids around her. In all, it took over half of the front page. Incidentally, Sean thinks that the article is good. Maybe I’m just too attached to what I wanted. I just heard all of us say things that I wish she would have included.

*As I was typing this, my phone rang. The article was apparently good enough to catch the eye of a local radio talk show host. He called my mother, wanting to know if we might be willing to be interviewed on his show this Saturday. I’m excited again. Live radio doesn’t allow for editing. I’ll be able to give my girls the credit I wanted them to have.

Leave a comment

Filed under adoption, Vietnam blanket project

Leave a Reply

