Daily Archives: December 7, 2007

Breaking the Silence

No, I have not been sick, or had pregnancy issues, or anything of that nature. I haven’t even had a life too dull to write about lately–quite the opposite. I have been so quiet for the past week because I have been SO FREAKIN’ BUSY that I have felt too guilty about taking the time to write. Even this will be a fairly short post with (hopefully) my promised post to Julie appearing sometime tonight or tomorrow.

So, have you ever had one of those weeks when you have to get everything Done. Right. Now.? That is how my week has gone. I have had places I had to go almost every night. I have been working out Christmas gifts for the employees of an advertising agency (through email, no less–not the most effective way of putting together what a client wants and a quote for everything). I have been trying to create a multi-media scrapbook/presentation thingy for a special event we are doing with the girls in my church group next week. I have been toying with the idea of expanding my Vietnam blanket project into a for-profit business that would help support the continuation and expansion of the project in a charitable organization (lofty, no?). Oh, and Christmas. Three kids, a husband, and the grandparents. Need I say more?

Actually, I will say more about Christmas. One of my biggest stressors on this front, at the moment, is Sean’s family. A few Christmases ago, I got the idea to make photo scrapbooks for both families (the one for my family was done with my siblings, the one for his family was done with his brother). My parents seemed to really like theirs. His family (various parents, grandparents, great-aunt–he has more people still alive) LOVED theirs. So much so that it is now the requested Christmas present. This scenario presents definite positives and negatives. Positive: We don’t have to stress about coming up with ideas for Christmas presents–one book, several copies, all done. Negative–the children in my husband’s family consist of him and his brother. Do you see where this is going? Even with easy online tools, they are not the scrapbook-making type of people. Heck, they aren’t even picture takers (there is a reason that so few photographs of me exist–I’m always the one behind the lens). This means that I spend many hours sorting through photos of my family, begging brother-in-law for more photos of his kids, organizing photos of my family and whatever photos I have taken of BIL’s kids, asking BIL if the ex-wives have given him any of their photos of the kids, inserting whatever I DO get out of him, adding captions…and on, and on. And, oh yeah, if I want them in time for Christmas, they need to be ordered no later than early- to mid-December. If I want them in time for when BIL leaves to visit my mother-in-law for Christmas, they need to be ordered this week. If I want them in time for my father-in-law’s family’s Christmas party, well, it’s already too late. Oh, and I’m still in the “begging for pictures, haven’t even started laying the thing out yet” stage. Sigh.

I’d love to talk more about the blankets but, well, time. I will say that it has gone from daydreaming to more of a solid possibility. As in, someone I know with an existing business is interested in incorporation them into her product line. I have been completely redesigning the concept to fit more with what I, as a mother, would want to spend my money on. I finished my first prototype this morning, I think it is adorable. And soft. All of my kids keep grabbing it. W~ has attempted to claim it as his own (the first time I showed it to him, he asked me to put it on his bed, then started referring to it as “my blankie”). Oh well, I’ll tell you more in time.

So much for my “short post.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Life, Vietnam blanket project