Feeling a Little Less Stress

Honestly, I do enjoy the Christmas season. Yesterday was the proverbial straw that broke the back of a camel that had been wondering through my life for the past couple of weeks. Basically, I’ve had too much to do, and too little time (or sleep!) to accomplish it. Today, while not stress-free, has seen some major burdens lifted.

First, though, I have to revisit the texter from last night. Sean and I were talking about him today and he said, “Oh yeah, did you catch what the kid’s name was?” The answer would be: no, I was too busy trying to control my urge to rip his head off every time he stared at my stomach. The kid’s name was Kal-El. I will admit that this did strike me as a little, um, ODD, but I didn’t get the full significance of the name until Sean explained.

To the lesser Superman fan, the answer to “What is Superman’s real name” would be “Clark Kent.” It takes a fan of the texter’s stature to know that the CORRECT answer would, in fact, be Kal-El. Yep, that’s right, the poor kid was saddled with Superman’s given Krypton name. And no, Sean didn’t misunderstand. When the boy introduced himself, Sean said, “Oh, like Superman.” And the kid said, “Yep, my dad is a HUGE Superman fan.”

Say it with me now…FruitfreakinLoop.

Honestly, the only other time I have heard of something that cruel was when my ex lesbian-in-law’s sister named her daughter Jadzia after some Star Trek character. Sidebar: Please do not get the wrong idea, I am not a homophobe. I have plenty of friends who are homosexual. I do, however, feel that leaving your husband of 13 years for another woman has a whole lot to do with choice. And, when you have four kids who are suffering serious emotional crap due to your choices, well, I don’t feel that’s a choice you have the right to make. Anyhow…

So, I came home last night and worked on the photo albums. I woke up this morning and finished the photo albums. I joyfully hit “checkout” and instructed the computer to have my albums printed at a local megastore. And it joyfully informed me that doing so would limit my cover options and cost me about $50 more. What can I say, there will be no presents at the party tomorrow. My nicely-covered, less expensive albums are still set to arrive before Christmas day. And Sean insists that they are the best ones that I have done so far.

So that is done, my slideshow of my youth group is done (I may go back and fill you in on THAT fiasco at some point), I only  have a few more presents to buy for the kids, and Sean has taken care of his own Christmas present by renewing his cell phone contract to get an awesome deal on upgrading to a Blackberry  Pearl (maybe it’s just me, but I half expect the thing to show up with a picture of Captain Jack Sparrow on it). Which frees me up  to do some of the things I like to do. Like respond to email. Or read blogs (of course, that has my mind spinning for another adoption post–some of the dialogues out there right now are somewhat disturbing to me). Right now, I think I may do some research on collecting sales tax for the business I have been considering starting.

Sounds fun, huh?

Leave a comment

Filed under Daily Life, I think my head might explode

Leave a Reply

