The Minds of Men (and other Baby Prep)

How to make your wife think you are wonderful:

  1. Remove all outgrown clothing from children’s dressers.
  2. Pull out all baby/toddler clothing currently sorted into old diaper boxes.
  3. Organize everything, put it in big plastic tubs, and label the tubs for future use.

How to drive your wife insane when she later goes to pull out baby clothes:

  1. Label large plastic tubs as follows:
  • 0-12 month, cool weather
  • 0-18 month, cold weather
  • 18-24 months, warm weather (small bag newborn, warm weather)
  • 2T-4T, cold weather
  • 3T, 4T, 5T, Warm weather

       2.  Proceed to insist that this method somehow makes more sense than labeling strictly by clothing size.

 

Yep, I’m frustrated. Just to give you an idea, these are all of the clothes from the “0-18 month, cold weather” tub (almost all of which are 12 month size):

big pile

And these were the only 0-3 month outfits in the whole mess.

three outfits

What really has me worried, though, is the fact that I have been through both of the tubs claiming to contain newborn clothes and have only found four or five outfits. That means that he missed the boxes or bags of newborn clothes that I had when he did all of his sorting. I know I have a bag of baby clothes in my closet, but I thought they were bigger. I hope I’m wrong, because I really don’t want to even guess where all of my baby clothes are, otherwise.

As you may have guessed, I have been tackling my “To Do” list. And I’m having some success. Here’s what I’ve managed:

  1. Got my networking group responsibilities in order (just need to make a trip to the bank to deposit a few checks).
  2. Put in skin care order for mother and mother-in-law.
  3. Cut out fabric for C’s teddy bear, and bought the flax seed to fill it 
  4. Bought infant-sized diapers
  5. Tried to get out newborn clothes (sigh)
  6. Bought batteries for camera
  7. Ripped new music (heavy on classical) to MP3 player
  8. Bought Peter and the Starcatchers to read in the hospital (This is my church’s book club book this month. I had considered buying it in the past because, well, Dave Barry doing Peter Pan is definitely intriguing, so now’s good. I just have to keep myself from reading it before I go to the hospital.)
  9. Wrote post about pregnancy with C~ and his birth.
  10. Filled out hospital pre-registration form and handed it in. I’m officially in the system and allowed to go into labor.

Seeing as how my original list had fourteen things to accomplish, I think I’m doing pretty well (OK, two of the things above still aren’t actually completed, but progress has been made).

I am noticing that my braxton hicks contractions are starting to get stronger. Some actually manage to really get my attention. I had a good one this morning while I was half-asleep. Good sign! I have an appointment with my midwife tomorrow. I’m hoping that they will decide to strip my membranes while I’m there.

My mother-in-law is in town for her last week-long business trip for a few months. This time, she worked out her flights so that she is staying to visit us the weekend after she finishes working instead of the weekend before. This was with the hope that I will have had the baby by then, and she’ll get some “grandma time” before she goes back to Florida.

No pressure.

Leave a comment

Filed under I think my head might explode, pregnancy

Leave a Reply

