Totally Right (but Probably Wrong)

So, two months ago I had this moment of panic where I worried that I might go into labor during some massive snow storm that made the roads impassible (I’ve mentioned it a few times).  OK, so do I know my area and its weather this time of the year, or what?

Forecast for My Neck of the Woods:

Graphic depicting weather conditionLATE AFTERNOON – A chance of snow. Cloudy, with a high near 23. East wind around 10 mph. Chance of precipitation is 40%. Total daytime snow accumulation of less than a half inch possible.

Graphic depicting weather conditionTONIGHT – Periods of snow and sleet before 11pm, then periods of snow, freezing rain and sleet between 11pm and 2am, then periods of freezing rain after 2am. Low around 21. East wind between 5 and 11 mph. Chance of precipitation is 100%. New ice accumulation of 0.1 to 0.3 of an inch possible. New snow and sleet accumulation of 1 to 3 inches possible.

Graphic depicting weather conditionFRIDAY – Periods of freezing rain, mainly after 8am. High near 32. Northeast wind between 3 and 11 mph. Chance of precipitation is 100%. New ice accumulation of less than a 0.1 of an inch possible.

Graphic depicting weather conditionFRIDAY NIGHT – Freezing rain and sleet likely before 11pm, then snow, freezing rain and sleet likely, mainly between 11pm and midnight, then a chance of snow after 2am. Cloudy, with a low around 23. North wind between 9 and 11 mph. Chance of precipitation is 70%. New precipitation amounts between a tenth and quarter of an inch possible.

Graphic depicting weather conditionSATURDAY – Partly sunny, with a high near 34. North wind between 6 and 10 mph.

Of course, if my weekly appointment with the midwife yesterday is any indication, I won’t be taking any rides in an ambulance tonight. As of then, there was nothing of note going on. And yes, I would GLADLY go for that ambulance ride tonight if only

I spent most of my day today working on cleaning the house. Honestly, sometimes a feel like a house elf. You know, like everyone else under this roof seems to think that everything just magically picks itself up. I was gone last night (we took our youth group ice skating, outside, in 18 degree weather–brrrr). I walked around this morning cleaning up an empty bag of chips (in the living room) and several empty yogurt containers (throughout the house) as well as all of the dishes, toys, laundry, unmade beds…well, you get the idea. The sad thing is that nobody would walk into my house (even after all of the work) and be impressed by my cleanliness. Yes, I feel like I’m fighting a losing battle. On the plus side, though, I did find more newborn clothes. They were in my bedroom closet, just as I suspected. I’m not really sure if I’ve found all of them, though. I know that I don’t have a ton (my kids grow out of them really fast since they tend to be born around nine pounds), but I thought I had a bit more than what I’ve found.

Tomorrow starts what should be a crazy weekend for me. My mother-in-law is finishing up her last bit of work in the morning, then coming to stay with us for the weekend (although, given the forecast, I’m betting she’s longing for her home in Florida right about now). That, of course, means that we will have my brother-in-law and his kids around for the majority of the weekend, too. We are also talking about going to Dave and Buster’s on Saturday, which is almost an hour from here. So I don’t see myself getting a nice, leisurely, (potentially) last weekend before the baby comes (oh, and did I mention that my birthday is in among all of that?). Oh well, at least with that many people around, I won’t have to worry as much about entertaining the kids. Maybe I’ll finally get some sewing done.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, pregnancy

2 responses to “Totally Right (but Probably Wrong)

  1. Hopefully your midwife would be willing to catch this baby at home if necessary! That’s a crazy due date forecast!! Can’t wait to read your post when it’s finally time – you’re of course going to post while in labor, right? Otherwise, I would doubt your commitment to your readers;) Just teasing.

  2. I haven’t posted my hospital bag list (an obvious mistake, since I now can’t find it), but it does include my laptop and cell phone (conveniently capable of serving as a pretty rockin’ modem). While I won’t be posting blow by blows of the action, I hope to do a pretty quick summary once he’s here. I wouldn’t want to leave you hanging. 😉

Leave a Reply

