Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes!

1:08, 1:13,

Something just occurred to me. I mean REALLY occurred. I really don’t know when is the “right” time to go to the hospital if I really am in labor. I mean, I know the general rules. But, funny as it seems, I’ve never had to make the call. My other two labors were no-brainers. My water broke, I went to the hospital, and they started pitocin. I guess it just hasn’t occurred to me that things might actually work the right way this time. That my water might not break first. (1:18, but very short.) I seem to be getting them about every five minutes, but they  don’t feel long enough to really count as true labor. Hmmmm….(1:22)

1:26–still really short. 1:28. 1:33. 1:37. 1:39. Missed one. 1:45.

OK, I have been walking around getting all of my hospital bag stuff together. I guess, at some point soon, I should call the midwife and ask what she thinks. Their instructions say to call if you’re having contractions every 5-7 minutes for at least an hour. It has been about 40 minutes since I started keeping track, but I was having contractions that I wasn’t timing for almost two hours before that. I’m just still not convinced entirely (1:48) since the contractions themselves seem so short. But I also don’t want to put things off too long since I am group B strep positive and am supposed to get the antibiotics, which takes at least two hours (and it takes almost half an hour to get to the hospital). 1:51.

At this point, Sean knows what’s going on. Not that he’s out of bed. That’s ok, I’d rather have him get his (1:53) sleep while he can. 1:55–really felt that one in the back. 1:57. 2:00. 2:04. 2:08.

I’ve called the midwife and am waiting for a call back. 2:10.

Just heard back. We’re going to head to the hospital.

4 Comments

Filed under pregnancy

4 responses to “Ch-ch-ch-ch-Changes!

  1. Congratulations and good luck!

  2. Ahhhhhh!! I’m so excited for you!! Can’t wait for your next post!!

  3. thanksgivingmom

    Oh my goodness!!! Congratulations!!!

  4. Nancy

    Congratulations on your 9 pound boy. He is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

