The Greatest Reward

If you have been reading my blog for any amount of time, you should be familiar with the Vietnam blankie project that I did with the girls at my church (and then my mother took over). We started in October, and the blankie buddies were finally delivered to Quinn’s orphanage about two weeks ago.

I don’t know if I mentioned it before, but we sent so many blankie buddies over that there were actually too many for Quinn’s orphanage. As a result, the adoption agency put some aside to send to another province. They were delivered this past week.

This is where it gets cool.

Elaine called me yesterday and told me that she wanted to read an email to me from one of her online friends. As much as I’m tempted, I’m not going to write the particulars of what was said since it is not my story to tell. This woman, however, had just received her referral from Vietnam. Among the many pictures she received of her daughter was one with a duck blankie buddy on the girl’s head. The picture was such that it reminded her of another picture–one of someone very close to her that had passed away. And that gave it meaning.

First, it amazes me that I have already been able to see a referral photo with one of our blankies in it. I had wondered if I ever would, so to have one within a matter of a couple of weeks–wow. But to know that there was something about it that really had meaning to this mother? Honestly, the whole project was worth it just for that.

I did share the picture and email with my girls last night. It was one of the few times that they have seen me choke up (honestly, why is it that I would rather have people think there is a cold, dark spot where my emotions should be rather than have them see me cry?). I hope that they are as moved by it as I am.

It has been such an amazing project. I need to find a way to keep it going.

1 Comment

Filed under Vietnam blanket project

One response to “The Greatest Reward

Leave a Reply

