Ode to a Sunny Day and a Trampoline

Spring has come from out of nowhere in my area, and life is suddenly very different. Dealing with the kids has been awesome. The past few days have been mid-60’s to 70’s, and grandma has been babysitting cousins next door, so we had two days of a midget herd. At its height, there were three five-year-old’s, two three-year-olds, and a two-year-old playing on the swing set, jumping on the trampoline, and digging in the dirt (then arguing over who got to hold the grubs–blech!). Oh, and me getting to hear N~ yelling “Mommy, I see a hawk-bird!” Yep, my yard is like some Audobon heaven. Hawks, woodpeckers, vultures (hmmm, I wonder what is dead back in the field–I’ve seen them and a lot of crows in the past couple of days) all kinds of cool stuff to see and hear.

They spent two solid days playing outside, which kept the days quiet and the bedtimes easy. Heaven!

And while the kids are away, the mom can–clean. I have been really bothered by some of the more cluttered areas of my house lately. So I have been decluttering my bedroom and getting all of my office stuff and fabrics/craft materials organized and put away. My next project will be our buffet, which is so stuffed with goodness-only-knows-what that it is completely useless for real storage. Once that is taken care of, I can find homes for some of the things that are currently hanging out on the surfaces. I’m just really feeling the need for order–maybe the nesting is finally kicking in?

I had my six-week follow-up appointment with my midwife Tuesday. Oh, so many things I could talk about with that one, but my mother is reading (ok, not so much her as the fact that she knows some of the rest of you are reading, too!). What I will say, though, is that Utah has a great road system (really, I am still on the same topic, just hang in here with me for a bit). I really have no desire to ever live in Utah again, but I would love to have their road system here–streets named by how many blocks north, south, etc. you have traveled. It is brilliant. Once you understand it, it is darn near impossible to get lost. Here? Not so much.

Let me explain. A few days after E~ was born, my OB’s practice moved its office. This was the first time I had gone to the new place. Now, let’s say that the old office was on North Whistling St at the northern part of the local city. My understanding was that they had moved to a location very close by, on the same street, so I headed in that direction. When I got on N. Whistling, I checked the new address. 900 South Whistling St. I was at, oh, about 9000 North. Crap. So I started heading south. After awhile, N. Whistling turned into New Zealand St. And I was officially lost. Now, I knew approximately where S. Whistling St was in the suburb just south of the city. After much turning down one street or another, I finally found S. Whistling. But I was at about 2000 South. So I started going north. And S. Whistling quickly turned into another street (before hitting anything close to 900). At this point, I had been driving around for about an hour (thank heavens I had the time of my appointment wrong and left an hour early). It was late enough that the office-staff was back from lunch, so I called the office and explained that I was completely lost and confused.

“Oh,” said the nice lady on the phone,” our new office is just about 3/4 mile north of the old one.”

Huh?

That’s right, folks. I had to go north on N. Whistling to get to the S. Whistling St. that they were located on in the suburb just north of the city (as opposed to the S. Whistling I was on in the south suburb). Gah!

Oh, and to make it even better, I hit a stop and roll (seriously, I wasn’t even pushing the gas pedal) traffic jam on the freeway driving home. What should have taken me 1 1/2 hours round-trip (including appointment) took me about four hours. At least the baby had the courtesy to sleep through it all.

Also, my midwives now associate me with the vibrator. As I was checking out, the one midwife (loudly) asked how my vibrator was. Before I had a chance to melt into the floor, the other midwife and office staff started laughing about it (whew! At least they didn’t think I was–um–different than I am). Apparently, they have all seen the pictures and heard the story. Still, there is something a little disconcerting about being the “vibrator lady.” (If you are reading this and go to my church, please click the link and read the story so my mother won’t have to worry about you thinking poorly of me 😉 ).

I know I said that there were so many places I could go with the appointment, but wouldn’t out of deference to my mother. I didn’t.

I must say, the mind reels.

 

**If you read Elaine’s blog and are dying to know what is going on, all is well (but hectic). Elaine is currently experiencing the shakes from internet withdrawal, though. So you won’t hear from her until next week. But, rest assured, she’ll have plenty to talk about.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, I think my head might explode, just plain bizarre, Kids

2 responses to “Ode to a Sunny Day and a Trampoline

  1. “Good vibrations” could be your theme song…

  2. Nancy

    A nurse from City Hospital thought the “rectal dilators” we vound when cleaning out Miriam’s house were a real treasure. She took them to display in their showcase of antique “medical instruments.”

    Your vibrator surely is more valuable than that.

    (I gave them away; I didn’t even want to touch them. I can’t imagine displaying them.)

Leave a Reply

