Dealing With the Bad-itudes

Sometimes it is the little things that set you off. Something got under my skin a couple of days ago, and I have been alternately down and annoyed since then. Of course, this makes the other little things in life seem a lot more difficult to deal with. So, I guess today started out without having much of a prayer.

That doesn’t mean that I haven’t tried. I picked up the mess in the living room. I vacuumed. I swept and mopped the kitchen. I stripped beds and washed sheets. I managed not to curl up in a twitching ball when I found a broken egg shell wrapped in a towel in the boys’ room (hence the stripping beds and washing sheets). I finally got a shower and put myself together for the day.

Then, I dared try and buy diapers for the baby.

Why is it that some grocery trips go so well and others, well, don’t?

I asked them nicely to stop. I told them firmly to stop. I threatened them with a one-way ticket to naptime without a detour for lunch (they’ve been snacking all morning–it’s not like they’re going to starve). Before we left the store, I informed them that the threat would be carried out as soon as we reached home. The car ride home was an absolute joy, with N~ providing a constant stream of attitude.

“I don’t want to do to bed, Mo-mmy!”

Well, you’re going to.

“I’m going to hit you, Mo-mmy!” (while brandishing a disconnected fuzz-buster).

Just try it and see how much more of your day you spend in that room.

“The next time you take a shower, I’m going to flush the toilet so the water gets cold!”

Huh?

I really had to fight the urge to laugh. Seriously, folks, I have no clue where he came up with that one. That doesn’t even happen in my house.

So, the bad-itude boys are in bed. The house is quiet. With any luck, I may even get a nap.

2 Comments

Filed under I think my head might explode, Kids

2 responses to “Dealing With the Bad-itudes

  1. I’m sorry about your day. It seems that no matter how hard we try – we have bad days. I’m glad you’re getting some alone time, that always helps me.

  2. Nancy

    When it looks like your day doesn’t have a prayer, kneel with the boys and have a prayer. Might help. Can’t hurt.

Leave a Reply

