A Good Conversation

The last time I talked to N’s birthmom, T~, we had talked about them visiting soon. That was well over a month ago, and I hadn’t heard from her since. N~ has been asking when they were going to visit, so we told him yesterday that we would call and ask (then got busy and didn’t call). N~ reminded me this morning that we needed to call. We did. She was home. And she was obviously happy to hear from us.

I guess it is just because he is getting older, but N~ is definitely more into having conversations with her, now. Before, it was the quick hellos of a small child, then he was on his merry way. Today, he would talk for awhile, then tell her bye, then come back awhile later and ask to talk again. We went through several cycles like that. He talked her ear off. If it were anyone else, I would have cut him off so as not to completely drive the person on the other end of the line crazy. But this was T~, so I figured that she would want to talk to him as much as possible. So I just let him talk until she ended the conversation.

Even though I didn’t get to talk to her too much, it was still a good call. She told me that they had considered trying to come out this past weekend, but things fell apart. They do still want to come as soon as they can get all of the work schedules in their house to line up in a way that lets them all come. I also found out that she hasn’t gotten the email I sent with pictures from N’s birthday yet (their computer is having issues). OK, part of me was kind of relieved. I had told her I would email some pictures during our last conversation then, knowing she wouldn’t be able to get them right away, kept putting off picking some out to send. I was afraid that she would have gotten a chance to check before I actually sent those, so I’m glad that I at least sent them soon enough that they will be there the first time she checks. I know, I know, shame on me for being a flake and not sending them right after the last conversation, anyhow.

I suggested to her that, when she does have internet access again, maybe we could set up a password-protected blog to share pictures and whatnot with each other easily. I’m not sending her to this one–this is more of a journal for me, and the more people that I know in real life read it, the more I feel like I have to watch what I say (if you do really know me, don’t feel bad for reading–I don’t mind). So, anyhow, this will stay my personal space, but I would like to set up something that she and I can share so that we can get pictures and what-not to each other more easily (and, hopefully, more regularly).

So, all in all, it was a good conversation. And it sounds like we really will get to see them again soon. I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a comment

Filed under adoption, open adoption

Leave a Reply

