Probably More Than You Wanted to Know…

Brown tagged me for a meme. I have to admit, though, this one is full of the kinds of questions that I am awful at answering. Favorites? I’ve never even been able to commit to a favorite color. But here’s the best I’ve got:

Favorite Person Outside Family: (Shoot, stumped already…) I don’t know what this says about me, but I’m not a BFF kind of a person. I have a lot of friends, but no one that I really hang out with outside of my family. I don’t keep in contact with any of my old college roommates (even the one that I grew up with). I maybe talk to my friends that I’ve known since kindergarten a few times a year.

And now you are all wondering if I wear a hoodie and sunglasses and write creepy letters from some shack in a forest…

Quirks about me: Aside from my apparent inability to maintain deep, personal relationships outside of family? (Really, those who know me in real life know that I’m not some social hermit.) Hmmm…My plates and bowls need to be put away a certain way. If someone else unloads the dishwasher (incorrectly–always), I have to rearrange them or it drives me nuts. I broke myself of doing the same thing with making the bed because I think it was hurting Sean’s feelings (as in, “why bother?”).

How would the person who loves you most describe you in 10 words or less: Loyal, loving, committed, intelligent, good sense of humor, cautious, (if anyone knows a word for “gets into things, then gets into other things” that doesn’t have the negative connotation that “flighty” does, that would be his final contribution…)

(Incidentally, I’m not the only one who sucks at these kinds of questions. I asked Sean to describe me in 10 words or less and he became flustered, saying he would need time to think and paper to write on. Huh? For pete’s sake, just throw some words out there! At least it only took three adjectives before I stopped sounding like a lap dog.)

Any regrets in life: I had considered changing my major to food science and nutrition my freshman year, but chickened out because I was afraid that I couldn’t hack the math and biology aspects. I totally could have done it. I regret not showing myself what I was capable of instead of sticking with what was comfortable.

Favorite charity/cause: My church. They do tremendous service all over the world, and they tend to do it very quietly.

Favorite Blog recently: Oh, come on, I can’t pick just one. I love you all!

Something you can’t get enough of: Sleep.

Worst job I ever had: My freshman year of college, I worked in the kitchen at the LDS Missionary Training Center. They had three HUGE garbage disposals (big enough to stand in). All of the leftovers would be ground up, mixed with water, then ran into an even larger machine that squeezed the water out and turned the nasty pulp into mulch for the flower beds.

My job was to clean all four machines.

I would go home covered in ground-up food. It (and by “it” I mean “I”) reeked. I would have to head straight to the shower.

Worst job you would pay NOT to have: Um, see above.

Favorite bible verse: Isaiah 41:10 “Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.”

That one saved me from a nervous breakdown or two during my college years.

Guilty pleasure: Mmmmm….Marshmallow Fluff. I don’t do it so much anymore, but I used to buy it and just eat big spoonfuls from the jar for a snack.

Got any confessions: Sure I do. But I’m not sharing. My mother reads this (and she would be horrified if I told you anything negative).

If you HAD to spend $1000 on yourself, how would you spend it? Probably on clothes. Or books! Or wandering through a fabric/craft store.

Favorite thing about your house: My backyard.

back yard2

Need I say more?

Least favorite thing about your house: The layout is very closed. I like the more open layouts of newer houses.

One thing you are good at: I sing well.

One thing you would change about your circumstances: My husband is an insurance agent, so he gets paid on commission. That means I never know what the next month holds with a great amount of certainty. I’d enjoy not having to wonder if the next month will be good, bad, or average.

Who would you like to meet some day?: My great-grandchildren.

What makes you feel sexy: Oh, come on! I’m not quite three months out from having a baby. I can tell you what doesn’t make me feel sexy (stretched out tummy, spit-up on my clothes, not being able to fit into pre-pregnancy jeans), but I’m having a bit of trouble with sexy at the moment. Although the Aerosmith song “Crazy” has a strangely (as in, no identifiable reason for it)  hormone-inducing feel to it for me.

Who is your real life hero?: I’ve never been able to truthfully answer this question. I’m not really into the hero thing.

What is the hardest part about your job?: The hardest part of being a stay-at-home mom? Aside from no time off? The fact that I really had to give up a lot of myself to do it. Despite what a lot of people seem to think, giving up having a job to be a mother is tough. It is easier to see what you are accomplishing with a job. You tend to get a whole lot more praise with a job. And you can leave your job at the office. But being a mother? Yeah, not so much.

When are you most relaxed?: When the kids are in bed and I’m vegging in front of the tv or with a good book.

When are you most stressed?: When I have to depend on someone else and they don’t come through. (Basically, when I don’t have control over a situation.)

What can you not live without?: My cell phone. I’m just sure I will meet with great peril if I accidentally leave it at home.

Do you agree or disagree about the recent article that reported blogs are authored by narcissists: Some are, some aren’t. I wouldn’t be surprised if many blog authors have higher self-esteem, since writing in such an open forum could mean you assume that people care about what you have to say.

Of course, on the other side of the argument, I think a lot of blog authors use it as a form of self-therapy.

Why do you blog?: To keep a record of my life. To feel like I’m having adult conversations, even if I’m sort of talking to myself…

Who are you tagging?:
Rules:
1. Answer the questions
2. Link back to whoever tagged you
3. Tag eight bloggers to do the same, 2 from each category.
New/ newer bloggers (since we want to share the love and send them traffic)

Nicole, Lilola

Bloggy friends

Jill, Cindy

Bloggers you’d like to get to know better

glittersmama (not that I don’t already know you…), Melody

Bloggers you don’t think will respond, but you hope will

Doug, Elaine (if I had to bet on one, it would be Elaine)

1 Comment

Filed under Memes

One response to “Probably More Than You Wanted to Know…

  1. Your posts are so entertaining to read! I’ll get on the tagging asap…I used to like to eat marshmallow creme, too. ha ha.

Leave a Reply

