Chinese Water Torture

A week or two ago, Sean and the kids decided to fly kites. I wasn’t home at the time, but I’m assuming that they got some real height going. Why? Well, because C’s Elmo kite is now stuck up in Grandma and Grandpa’s tree. Near the top. Higher than anyone can get without the assistance of a fireman’s ladder. Elmo will not be coming down for a very long time.

And until that day comes, I’m gonna hear about it.

Seriously, I think that I have heard “Elmo not coming down,” or some variation of that phrase, at least once for every hour that C~ has been awake since “Elmo stuck.” It is enough to drive a momma to tree arson just to eliminate the constant red, furry reminder.

*******************************

I was the only persona in my Biggest Loser group to show up for our training session last night. It seems that three out of our group of five have pretty much checked out for good. But the other girl is usually there with me. I really do like her, but I also really like being the only person. She is at a completely different fitness level than I am (don’t get me wrong–she works her butt off), so it is great to get one-on-one attention with the trainer where everything is done to really work me.

He had me doing all kinds of crazy stuff last night (Step-ups with six risers under the step? Sure! Why not?), with very little rest during the workout. Needless to say, I’m feeling it some today.

There is no question that my muscle tone has really improved since I started working out with the trainer. I just wish that the numbers on the scale would reflect it a bit more. I know that I’m replacing some of the weight from fat with weight from additional muscle (blah, blah, blah…), but I’d still like to see those numbers coming down faster.

*******************************

I finished the book I have been reading–Confessions of an Ugly Stepsister by Gregory Macguire. This is the third book I have read by him. I love the fractured fairytale genre. I love how intelligently he writes. I hate that he throws in some really unnecessary language and sex scenes (When you barely use swearing in your writing, then drop an f-bomb, you’re just doing it for the shock value of that word, not for any semi-legitimate reason. Ditto for sex scenes that don’t further the plot). So anyhow, not really anything worse than I read in my literature classes at the very religious university I attended, but still nothing that I would ever recommend for, oh, say, a church book club.

So anyhow, that leads me to the big question…

Does the title of this post refer the the Elmo questions, or my sister’s constant verbalization of her vampire fantasies?

Oh, wait, that’s not it.

Is it time for me to blow the eight bucks and buy Twilight?

Of course, I only have to ask this question because being an obsessive fan of the book apparently requires having both the hardbound and paperback versions in your possession instead of, say, leaving one behind for your sister to read for free. Hurmph!

So, anyhow, I guess I’m going to get the book when I stop to buy OJ and diaper wipes this evening.

I’m not sure how I feel about even approaching this book. After all of the build-up about how I shouldn’t read it unless I’m using birth control, I just fail to see how it will live up to the hype. Of course, I just can’t imagine getting that worked into a lather over a teenager.

Yes, yes, Elaine. I know. He isn’t really a teenager. He’s over 100-years-old. Fine. Have it your way. I can’t see getting that worked up over a dirty old man with a thing for little girls.

So, anyhow. Time to read Twilight. I’ll let you know what I think. Or you can just mark your calendars and see where things stand in nine months.

8 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Healthy Living, Just for Fun, Kids

8 responses to “Chinese Water Torture

  1. I got the paperback copy to leave behind for mom to read, but she finished before we left. I had no idea you wanted to read it because, as you have once again in your post, you are constantly turning your nose up at the idea of it. Since there are no bookstores within a good 20 miles of my new town, and I hope to get people here reading it, I brought my paperback copy with me to loan out around here.

  2. I guess you forgot the conversation, but I did ask to borrow them. I had suggested trading books, but you weren’t interested in the ones I was reading. I’ve told you all along that I would read them, eventually.

  3. Lilola

    don’t make me come over there….. 😉

  4. Cindy

    Okay Katie..I just read Confessions about 1 month ago and enjoyed it. I now have Mirror Mirror to download to my Ipod. I like having something to listen to while I am cleaning. It makes it so much more enjoyable. As far as Twilight goes….if you have not bought it I would just check it out from the library. I read it and never wanted to go on to the next 2 books. I am just like you….why throw your “real” life away to be with a 100+ year old vampire. I know we are in the minority and maybe now you are with the majority. Let me know your opinion after you finish.
    And yeah…good luck with the kite.

  5. Half-way through and I’m not ready to buy my husband yellow (oh, sorry, “topaz”) contacts yet.

  6. Hmmm, I meant to end my aside, not put in a wink. Oh well, a wink works there.

  7. Pingback: I’ve Always Been a Dog Person « Mixed Nuts

Leave a Reply

