Much Ado About Nothing*

What the heck is the deal with bathing suits? It has only been two years since I bought my last one (which had gone kaput in the elastic department, resulting in an unfortunate show of areas I didn’t want shown every time I took two steps), but I certainly didn’t remember having such an issue last time.

Sean informed me yesterday that he and his brother wanted to take the kids to the water park at King’s Island for our Saturday activity. OKaaaaay. As I said–swimsuit, walking, flesh, *shudder*. So I went to Target. I found one that looked cute. I tried it on. I decided that I either needed a lot less modesty, or a lot less cleavage.

I put it back.

Next, I tried the local mega-store. Everything was either tankinis, or the kind that old ladies wear where the top half floats around you as soon as you hit the water. I am not a tankini person, nor am I geriatric.

I left that store.

I headed to Kohl’s. They did have a small selection of one-piece suits. They were on sale–40% off. The original price was $88.

I didn’t even bother.

I tried a department store. Same basic story as Kohl’s, except some were up over $100.

We’re talking about a minimal amount of fabric! 100+ Dollars???

On the way to King’s Island this morning, we stopped at the mall and I went to JC Penny’s. Several one-piece suits. 50% off (although, again, originally $70-90!). I found one that I loved, but, again with the cleavage (I came *thisclose* to justifying it since it wasn’t as bad as the one at Target, but then remembered all of the modesty talks we have been having with our girls at church and couldn’t let myself be a hypocrite). Sigh. I bought one that I liked instead.

And then we went to the amusement park side instead.

Gah!!!!!!!!

OK, so at least I have a nice bathing suit for our trip to Orlando in a couple of weeks. Now, I just need something to make me feel better about the time I spent trying to use Veet this morning in an attempt to be smooth and histamine-free. (In case you’re wondering, I didn’t get hives from it. Of course, I didn’t get smooth from it, either.)

King’s Island was fun. Well, it was fun after if finally stopped raining. We’ll just pretend that the first two or three hours didn’t happen.

I really am glad that we have season’s passes again this year. It is far enough away that we can’t do it too regularly, but it is so much fun when we do. As young as my kids are, they still have so much fun on the rides. Even C~ can ride the smallest “roller coaster” now. And as I go whipping around with him and his brothers, watching their huge grins, I know we are making memories for them. I remember going there with my parents as a kid. We only went once a year, but we were always so excited to go. I love having that experience now with my kids.

 

*Quite easily one of my favorite movies of all time. Aside from being an awesome Shakespearean comedy, you just can’t beat the cast! Denzel Washington, Michael Keeton, Kenneth Branagh, Emma Thompson, Kate Beckinsale, Robert Sean Leonard, Keanu Reeves (who, unfortunately, seemed constipated through the whole thing). If you haven’t seen it, you really should.

2 Comments

Filed under I think my head might explode, Kids

2 responses to “Much Ado About Nothing*

  1. I feel your pain. Swimsuits are not my favorite thing to shop for – they figure that if you’re overweight, you want to flaunt your chest. Not me. I even considered getting one of those swimsuits that cover your arms and thighs – a full body one! Oh yeah.

  2. We built those same memories with my kids @ Cedar Point and now that we are far, they still want to go annually during out trek up to Michigan in the summer.

    And yes I totally noticed the same issue with suits this year. I one that I love, one that is just ok. I wanted a third just in case (in case of what?!? I dunno) and kept my eyes peeled but saw the same as you. There were the geriatric or the teenie-bopper nudist. Nothing in between and nothing under $50 for sure! Thank goodness I bought the suit I love late last season or I’d be out of luck.

Leave a Reply

