A Little of This, A Little of That

I usually post when I have something on my mind, or had something significant happen. I actually have a big post that I need to write about online scammers and the saga of the new camera.

Oh! My camera came today! I took Nicki’s advice and got the Cannon S5. I’m still trying to figure it all out but, whoa nelly!, freakin’ cool camera. I am very excited.

Anyhow, as I was saying, I tend to forget to write about a lot of the little things. So I’m just being random tonight:

 

I suck at coming up with nicknames for my kids. I have thought about this for awhile now. I can think of things that fit, but that I wouldn’t want to carry over into real life. For instance, I have toyed around with calling E~ “Frodo.” Aside from his distinctly hobbit-like eating patterns (Hey Mom, is it time for second breakfast yet?), there is another tie that I’m not going to say since it would give away too much information. And I’m not even referring to the fact that, given my genetics, he has a great shot at getting hairy feat (I know, I know…your day has now been enriched by the knowledge that I have to shave my toes).

I can also think of a character that totally reminds me of C~. See, he has my eyes. Which, on a little kid, are heartbreakingly enormous. There are times that he wants things, or is upset, and he looks up at me with these huuuuuge eyes and looooong eyelashes–mere mortals can not resist the power of the eyes. If you have seen the second or third Shrek movies, he totally does the Puss in Boots look.

But you can’t nickname your little boy “Puss,” no matter how much his eyes fit the character.

So, for now, you just get initials.

*************************************

N: Mom! I still have bug bites. I have this weird cough. I might throw up tonight!

*************************************

Sean: Hey boys, does anyone want cauliflower with dinner?

W~ (Without missing a beat as he walks past with his plate): Nice try, Dad.

(Remember, folks, he’s three.)

*************************************

W~ (Looking at our male ferret, while referring to the female that died awhile back): Mom, who’s going to resurrect the other ferret?

*************************************

N~ came in the house a couple of days ago, all excited, wanting me to come outside and see the toad they had found. I went out and was showed one of the fattest toads I have ever seen.

N~: I think we should name him Slim.

After awhile of petting the toad, I told the boys I was going back in and that they should now leave the toad alone (and don’t pick the poor thing up and carry it around).  Shortly thereafter, N~ came in to tell me that W~ was carrying the toad in his shirt. I went outside and saw W~ pushing a stroller. I didn’t even have to ask. I told him to get the toad out of the stroller.

Surprisingly, he didn’t reach for the stroller seat. He started digging in the mesh bag hung off of the back of the stroller.

Obviously, toads don’t gossip. If they did, word would have gotten around by now, and there would be no toads in our yard.

*************************************

Lately, when I’m doing various “mom tasks” (dishes, laundry, whatever…), W~ has come up to me a couple of time, looked up with a smile, and said, “Good job, Mommy!”

Even if it’s just from a three-year-old, I’ll take my praise wherever I can get it.

*************************************

C~ has gotten into saying prayers, lately. Usually, it is just, “Dear Heavenly Father, Amen.”

Today, he expanded it some. “Dear Heavenly Father, Daddy come home, Amen.”

Too cute.

*************************************

Sean got a new calling at church this week. He and another man will be team-teaching a primary class. As soon as he was called, he told me that he felt sure there would be a reason that they were asked to teach the class. He found out on Sunday that there are some, um, energetic kids in the class. I told him I’m going to start calling him “The Enforcer.”

 

So there you go–totally random pieces of what I experience every day. It’s never dull.

2 Comments

Filed under Church, Daily Life, Kids

2 responses to “A Little of This, A Little of That

  1. Funny tidbits! I like the toad one best. That’s hilarious! I meant it when I said you should write a book someday. 🙂

  2. Pingback: I’ll Hug Him, and Squeeze Him, and Call Him Barry « Mixed Nuts

Leave a Reply

