Everyone’s Crying–It Must Have Been a Good Day

It never ceases to amaze me how the best days seem to have the worst endings.

Admittedly, my day didn’t start all that great. E~ has been battling a cold for the past few days. Yesterday, I had the thought that, hmmm, that’s odd since he should have my antibodies through nursing. And I’m not sick. I kid you not, the cold hit me within an hour of that thought. Sleeping last night was not a pleasant experience. There was the stuffy face (heck with just the nose) and accompanying headache and queasiness.  There were the dreams about drinking and drinking without ever being able to feel the water (I hate those dreams–I get them when I am super thirsty while I’m asleep). Oh, and we can’t forget the super duper out of town wrong number to my cell phone at 5:45 am. (Funny story on that one–it happened in the middle of me dreaming that I was in the temple. My phone started ringing in my dream, and I was mortified that I forgot to turn it off before going into the temple. Then it woke me up.)

So, I started my day totally stuffed up and lacking in sleep. Add to that the fact that I stepped on a toy and slid part-way down my steps yesterday, jacking up my right ankle and shin muscles and the ball of my left foot (if anyone can explain that part to me, I’d love to know how you sprain/pull/whatever the ball of your foot).

Just call me Gimpy.

And here’s the best part–I had agreed to taking my kids to a water park today with my father-in-law and one of my nephews.

Yipee!

Honestly, we had a blast at the water park. The water took a lot of the pressure off of my jacked up foot/leg/ankle. Something (who the heck knows what?) kept my stuffiness somewhat at bay. We only did a fraction of the water park–two different kiddie slide areas and the wave pool–but we were there for about four hours. I was afraid that I would end up spending most of my day sitting while they stood in lines, but E~ and I were in the water most of the time (he had a liberal amount of sunscreen and a good shade-hat on). E~ really enjoyed being in the water, too.

I, of course, stupidly chose not to wear sunscreen for the first half of the time we were there, so I can now add a sunburn to my pathetic state.

Can I just say, once again, how much I love the fact that my kids have an attitude of gratitude? N~ and W~ both, at separate times and unprompted, told me how much they appreciated me taking them and how much fun they had. And really, that’s why we do this stuff–to have fun together (that, and to wear them out and save my sanity).

As soon as we got in the car and started driving home, my head stuffed back up in a major way. So bad that I considered pulling over and asking my father-in-law to drive. It has been unrelenting ever since.

Knowing that I feel crummy, Sean has been the good husband and took the kids out toad hunting and bike riding until bedtime. W~ is really getting good with the bike. He can now start on his own, ride just as fast as he did with training wheels, and even ride down the ditch in the front yard and back up the other side. He’s a pro.

Which brings us to bedtime. You know what they say–no good deed goes unpunished. I suppose it is only natural. Spend a day wearing kids out, and they’re going to be grouchy at bed time.

That’s ok, soon they’ll be asleep and I’ll get my reward. A hot bath and early bed time sound just about right.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, I think my head might explode, Kids

2 responses to “Everyone’s Crying–It Must Have Been a Good Day

  1. Going to bed early sounds really good right now, I had 4 shots! I hope we both feel better soon!

  2. It’s so sweet when the kids express gratitude… especially unprompted. Glad you had a great day with the kids! Making memories together is what it’s all about. 🙂

Leave a Reply

