Dinner Conversation

As we were eating this evening, Sean looked at me and said, “Oh, I had a dream the other night that you were pregnant again.”

OK, that’s not what this is about but–aaack! I mean, sure, we have a seven-passenger vehicle and only six people in our family, so we aren’t maximizing the space. But, still!

N~ looked at me and said, “I had a dream that someone took me away.”

I don’t know if it is a developmental stage thing, but N~ has dreams like this somewhat regularly. I really don’t like to talk about scary things with my kids, but I decided that they are to a point where we should start having some basic discussions about safety with strangers. I told my kids that if someone they don’t know tries to take them away, they should never go. Then, I went for some role playing.

Me: What do you do if someone you don’t know tells you to come to their car with them so they can give you some candy?

N~: I don’t go with them.

Me: And what if they say that they want to take you to see their new puppy?

N~: I tell them “No.”

Me: What if they say that they need to take you to Mommy?

N~: I say, “I don’t want to see her!”

Wow. Thanks, kid. 😉 I guess it works, though.

*************************************

As I was typing this, Fox News ran a story about an uninsured man who was dealing with prostate cancer. When he went to apply for benefits from Oregon’s state run medical plan, he was told that they wouldn’t cover the expense of his chemotherapy, but they would pay for doctor-assisted suicide.

Oh. My. Gosh.

Everyone out there for national healthcare, raise your hand. Now, use it to smack yourself up the side of your head.

2 Comments

Filed under I think my head might explode, Kids, politics, Scary Bits of Life

2 responses to “Dinner Conversation

  1. Nancy

    Have you ever considered that it might have something to do with his being adopted, knowing his birth mother let someone else take him, and having figured out who T~ is? Could he be subconsciously worrying that you will let someone take him away like she did?

    Just a thought. If so it is part of the process of coming to terms with it all. You might consider reassuring him you would never let someone take him, instead of the stranger danger stuff.

    I had a good time doing alphabets with them this morning.

  2. I’ve considered it, but I try not to automatically assume that everything that happens in his life is an “adoption issue.” Part of last night’s conversation included the “we won’t let anyone take you away” discussion. In the past, that was the full extent of the conversation. We tell him that we’ll keep him safe and that Scarlet sleeps in his room and would tear any bad guys to pieces if they tried to get in. 😉

Leave a Reply

