Today’s Dessert Brought to You By the Letter "P"

Sometimes, I look back on my day and think, “Wow, if I didn’t eat like a trucker, I would weigh about fifty pounds.”

Seriously.

My day started with this disturbing little exchange on Fox and Friends (Warning: Do not watch if you are easily offended):

 

I’ll never look at Ernest Borgnine the same way again. Steve Doocy cracked me up, though.

A brief overview of my day from that point on would look something like this:

  • Shower
  • Clean up from breakfast
  • Make beds
  • Fold laundry
  • Realize there is poop dripping off of my arm
  • Change baby
  • Change my clothes
  • Get snacks
  • Wash laundry
  • Fold laundry
  • Make lunch
  • Do dishes
  • Wash laundry
  • Make dinner
  • Go shopping
  • Fold laundry
  • Pack for weekend trip
  • Clean stinky ferret cage

Lather. Rinse. Repeat.

It never ceases to amaze (and frustrate!) me that I can spend all day working and still go to bed surrounded by chaos. Someday I’ll figure out how make life look pretty.

Another major part of today that I didn’t put in the list was my decision to start potty training C~. I have mentioned the concept to him before. And he has told me, “I wear diapers.” End. Of. Discussion. I have never had a kid so decidedly anti-potty training as this one.

I decided to enter the battle with guns blazing.

At naptime today, I told C~ that he couldn’t have his plug (aka: pacifier) unless he tried to go pee on the potty first. He told me “no.” I said “ok” and told him he could head to bed one pluggy lighter. He said he wanted the plug. I told him to sit on the potty. After a few minutes of going ’round this circle, he dropped his diaper and had a seat. I only kept him on a few minutes, then rewarded him with the plug and his nap.

When he woke up, I immediately checked the diaper. Dry. I decided it was time for him to know what it felt like to actually pee in the potty.

I won’t go into detail, but lets just say that there were a lot of tears and sheer determination not to pee no matter how badly he needed to. In the end, though, Mother Nature and I had a collaborative victory and he (mostly) peed in the potty.

I rewarded him with brownies. Life should be celebrated with sugar.

At the store this evening, I let him pick out candy as a potty treat. We now have a bag of Smarties for him to dip into anytime he pees in the potty. Of course, he keeps trying to tell me that they aren’t for a potty reward. No, mommy, this is just C’s candy. End of story. No potty required.

I will win this battle.

Someday.

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, just plain bizarre, Kids, Potty Training

2 responses to “Today’s Dessert Brought to You By the Letter "P"

  1. I found your blog via Ilona D’s blog. How hilarious. Your writing style is so humorous and I totally love it. I only have two kids but my couch has become a permanent laundry folding station. I’m not sure what the solution is, but let me know how to find a break in the doing laundry/folding laundry cycle. I need a break.

  2. hi. randomly stumbled in to your very funny posts. Understand the humor of doing the kid thing..gotta laugh with it!!!

Leave a Reply

