How Bad Do You Want It?

As we took our kids on a walk/bike ride last night, Sean pointed to a “For Sale” sign in front of one of the houses on our street.

“The realtor in my networking group works for that guy,” he said, noting the realtor on the sign. “He’s really successful. He came to the group one day. He has a real presence about him. I mean, you notice him because of how big he is–maybe 6’4″, but it is more than that. He’s the kind of person that just draws everyone in as soon as he enters the room. That would be a great trait to have.”

We walk a few more seconds, then a small grin appeared on Sean’s face.

“Of course,” he admitted, “that probably wouldn’t work for me. I’d want the benefits of that kind of personality, but I wouldn’t want to actually have to deal with all of the people.”

Ahhh, yes. That’s my husband. A real people person, that one.

************************

C~: Mommy, I want candy.

Me: You can have that candy as soon as you go pee-pee on the potty.

C~: (laughing) No, that’s ok. I not really want candy.

He walks away.

 

(I did get him to pee on the potty after his nap today. It seems he will  only do it if I am not watching. I can sit encouraging him for fifteen minutes and he’ll wait for the 30 seconds I leave to do something else.)

2 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Potty Training

2 responses to “How Bad Do You Want It?

  1. I feel your pain… I’m trying to get Charity to start using the potty. She’ll get excited to be a big girl and use the potty, but then when we get in the bathroom, she says, “No tank-yew” and turns up her nose. It’s so frustrating!

  2. I don’t have children, but I have plenty of friends who do. A year or so ago, one of them was trying to potty train one of their brood. I was telling my mother about it and asked her how she potty-trained me and my siblings. Her answer?

    “I waited for the weather to turn cold and you each lost interest in going outside. With you inside more than normal, it was a cinch.”

    Of course, that was more than 35 years ago. Her memory of what constitutes “a cinch” may be a bit hazy.

Leave a Reply

