Turning 200

Wow.

I started this blog October 7, 2007 as a way to chart my pregnancy with my fourth son. Of course, little actual discussion of the pregnancy ensued. But I have, apparently, been pretty chatty over the past 10 1/2 months. This is my 200th post on this blog. Wow. I have a whole books-worth of my life here.

Who knows–maybe, someday, my kids will actually wade through all of this. Hmmm–I wonder if that is a good thing? Just in case, let’s talk about them.

This morning, W~ decided to go outside to play. After being out for a bit, he came in, gave me a thoughtful look and said, “Mom, I’m thinking I want a gun.”

Oh really?

I asked him why he wanted a gun.

“Oh, just so I can shoot at the trees.”

Sorry, Ralphieyou’ll shoot your eye out. Seriously, W~ is the last person in the world that I would want to arm.

A little later, I looked out and saw N~ and W~ pulling their little red wagon.

“Mom, we’re cleaning up the sticks!” N~ shouted up to me.

Yesterday, we had a lot of rain and wind go through. As frequently happens, a significant limb fell out of one of my parents’ trees. N~ and W~ decided (without any prompting!) to clean it up. It had broken when it hit the ground, so they were loading the pieces into the wagon. It made quite a mound, but C~ joined in and the three of them managed to pull it all to the fire pit, where they worked together to unload it.

What awesome boys! It does my mommy heart good to see them doing something so thoughtful for their grandparents. Sometimes, I think that I may actually be doing something right. 😉

Oh, and speaking of doing things right–C’s potty training is coming along nicely. He’s not running to me to tell me that he needs to go, or anything like that. BUT…he doesn’t object to trying anymore. I worked with him today on taking off his own diaper and pulling his little footstool over so he can get on the potty himself. He was amused by the whole thing. Also, he now gets mad if I try to make him get OFF before he pees. Apparently, he likes Smarties as much as his momma does.

Thank you, God, for this good life and forgive us if we do not love it enough. (Garrison Keillor)

1 Comment

Filed under Daily Life, Kids, Potty Training

One response to “Turning 200

  1. You know, I used to think that those guys on that MTV show, what’s it called? Jackass? I used to think they were the result of really, really bad parenting and/or were hopped up on something (not that I’ve ever actually watched that show, but I have heard of some of their exploits). At any rate, now I am questioning my theory about those guys. And hey, if W~ makes it to adulthood, we know where he can get a job.

Leave a Reply

