Weeping, Wailing, and Gnashing of Teeth…And the Kids Had a Rough Day, Too

I spent a large part of last night awake. This was, in large part, due to the fact that I had a constipated baby kicking me in areas that weren’t designed to withstand kicking (how does he consistently manage to whack me in an area that should be roughly even with his face???).

I could probably stop my description of today with the revelation of a constipated child. Because, as we all know from Turk and JD (cue music), everything comes down to poo.

 

Ahhh…see? It isn’t just mothers who are poop obsessed. But I won’t bore you with the details of how every diaper I changed on the kid today (and I lost track of how many) came down to poo. Anyhoo…

You know how I was saying yesterday that the key to homeschooling, for me, was obviously going to be the organization? How yesterday went so well because I made sure I was organized? Well, I was organized again today. And school time involved yelling. Too much yelling. Mainly at the two middle children who were obviously wanting attention that I couldn’t lavish on them while trying to force their older brother to focus (which he wasn’t in much of a mood to do today). It was, at times, ugly. There were good times, too, but they are hard to remember. Mostly, it was just an extremely frustrating three hours of my morning.

I knew there would be an adjustment period. I expected an adjustment period. I want to be past the adjustment period.

Don’t worry–I don’t expect to be past the adjustment period this fast. Just wishful thinking. After all, there may be a photo finish between which comes first: the end of the adjustment period, or the cessation of my sanity.

While I have still not received any more of the missing supplies, I did get my first call from the teacher we’re working with today. She seems very nice. She had answers for most of my questions (she couldn’t explain why, when we are supposed to be teaching 2 1/2 hours a day, the estimated time to complete all of the lessons for some days is closer to four hours–she had never noticed this before). She was helpful and encouraging. She used the euphemistic, “Wow, you’ve really got your hands full” when she found out that N~ is the oldest of my four boys instead of saying, “And you’re homeschooling? Have you completely lost it?”. See…encouraging.

We may get through this yet.

*********************

So, the other day, my sister basically predicted that my children were destined for a career intentionally harming themselves for the enjoyment of the brainless masses, a la Jackass. I’ve seen snippets of interviews with Steve-O (I couldn’t possibly endure entire interviews) and that kid has had a lot of chemical encouragement for his behavior.

That being said…

I looked out my window this evening to see W~ trying to carry a Big Wheels style bike up the ladder of the swing set. I can only assume that he was planning to ride it down the slide.

MTV–call me.

3 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Homeschooling, I think my head might explode, Kids

3 responses to “Weeping, Wailing, and Gnashing of Teeth…And the Kids Had a Rough Day, Too

  1. I’m strangely amused by your taste in youtube videos. Intriguing.

  2. Just W~, not all of them.

  3. Melody,

    I wouldn’t expect any less. I saw your post with Mr. Hanky the Christmas Poo. 😉

Leave a Reply

