Overwhelmed

Sometime in the middle of the night last night, the lights came back on. We weren’t here to celebrate, having decided that it would be better to stay at Sean’s dad’s house with lights, tv’s, and a shower. We found out this morning that everything was working again.

Since we had only taken one car to my father-in-law’s house, Sean had to drive me home at lunch time. The closer we got, the more I could feel the stress building in me. We ate lunch together, then Sean left me so he could go back to work.

I seriously wanted to cry.

Never mind the war zone that is our yard at this point–I knew that Sean would be taking charge of that situation. It was all of the things related to 2 1/2 days of no power in the house that had me stressed. Thank heavens I was able to do most of the dishes and laundry at other people’s houses, or I may have just had me an anxiety attack right there. No, it was just all of the things that couldn’t be wiped up or scrubbed out without water, the things that were taken out and not put away, the food that went bad without refrigeration (that I still haven’t dealt with).

Which brings me to my resentment of the week. Saturday, before this all happened, I spent a good chunk of my morning doing a desperately needed task. I took all of the food out of my refrigerator and scrubbed the heck out of it. You know you’ve put it off a little too long when it requires the force of your body weight to unstick a forgotten pickle jar in the back of the fridge. (And now you are all making a mental note to never eat at my house.) I was so pleased with myself–I thought it was time well spent.

Then this nonsense all happened (really, a hurricane in the Midwest just has to be the stupidest thing ever). Now I’m just annoyed that I did it Saturday since I’m going to have to go and empty the whole thing out again. I could have killed two birds with one stone.

So, anyhow, things are improving. The kitchen no longer disgusts me (except for that spoiled food issue…). The floors don’t require a machete and compass to navigate. Heck, we’re even going to start school again tomorrow. You may not have to listen to me blather on about this nonsense anymore.

At least until I have to start dealing with insurance adjusters.

4 Comments

Filed under I think my head might explode

4 responses to “Overwhelmed

  1. Oh wow, I feel your pain. I was totally overwhelmed too. We lost a ton of food too, and our carpets were pretty much filthy after having no vacuum for that long, and all the laundry, dishes, etc. etc. It was exremely overwhelming. Glad things are going to get back to normal now! (Well, we’ll never be normal, but you know what I mean.) 🙂

  2. How frustrating. I hope that you can get everything put back in its place quickly so you can relax. Nice job today! :o)

  3. Yeah, the carpets are still on my “to do” list. I shudder to think what they would look like if we had spent the whole time here. That’s the crazy thing–it seems like my house gets worse when we spend time away than when we’re all here.

    Oh, and I got fun stuff in the mail this week–all purple and metal and ready for a fashion show!

  4. Look at the up side — if you hadn’t just cleaned out your fridge before the power went out, it would be really, really, disgusting after days with no juice. Not that all the spoiled stuff won’t be gross now, but think how much grosser it would have been! See, it’s really a good thing that you put all that effort in on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

