Another Perspective on The Question

OK, OK, I get it. I’m not going to get some of you to answer my question.

Yet.

While I’m still going to keep my opinions close to my vest, I am going to give you a little more information to mull over.

This is me, dipping my toe into very murky waters.

The reason I asked my ethical question is directly related to the countries that are considered some of the worst in the arena of human trafficking.

India. Moldova. Cambodia. Vietnam.

They are all countries that, now or in the past, have had international adoption* agreements with the USA. They also all, now or in the past, have been seriously investigated for, or shut down, based on suspicions of human trafficking affecting those adoptions. (OK, admittedly, I’m not positive that that was why Moldova was shut down but, considering the State Departments warning on their website to not do anything that might be interpreted as baby buying during the adoption process, I’m going to go out on a limb…)

Does this change your initial response to my ethical question? Why or why not? How?

 

*Please, do not get the wrong impression. I believe in international adoption. I do not support unethical adoptions (although I acknowledge that they happen). I’m asking this because I’m seeing dots that connect, and I’m trying to find the big picture.

2 Comments

Filed under adoption, politics, The Me Behind the Mommy

2 responses to “Another Perspective on The Question

  1. Nancy

    Shortly before I arrived in Vietnam a woman was arrested in a hotel in Hanoi with three babies – two boys and a girl – on her way to China to sell them. The boys are a desirable commodity for infertile Chinese families, but no one wants the girls. The girls are taken in by people who raise them until they are old enough to sell into prostitution at about age six, as it is considered very good luck for a man to sleep with a virgin girl.

    With a population of about 84 million, Vietnam is twice as densely populated as China and very poor. Women sell their babies out of desperation. Someone will buy them, and the fewer the buyers the cheaper the sale price to the women. They would like to get money for a house or income to feed their other children, but take what they can get. Some just abandon them either at an orphanage, in the hospital, or along a road to die, especially if they cannot sell them.

    I am not advocating buying babies for adoption. I am merely telling what I learned while I was there. Not buying babies for adoption does not stop the sale of babies, it just increases the odds their sale ends up with horrific consequences.

    I don’t know what the answer is, except improved economic circumstances. That is a very long term proposition, though people stopped us on the streets to thank us for what America is doing for Vietnam. They see hope in capitalistic growth.

  2. Pingback: Looking for a Big Picture « Mixed Nuts

Leave a Reply

