Number Two

Wherever I am, there’s always Poo,
There’s always Poo near Me.
Whatever I do, it shows up too,
“Where are you going today?” says Poo:
“Well, that’s very odd ‘cos I was too.
I’m taggin’ along,” says Poo to Me,
“I’m taggin’ along,” says Poo.

“How many diapers?” I asked of Poo.
(“For two?” said Poo to Me.)
“It feels like five-hundred and forty-two.”
“That sounds about right,” snickered Poo.
“You’ll be holding your breath ’till your face turns blue,
But that’s how life goes,” said Poo, said he.
“That’s how it goes,” said Poo.

“Let’s try the toilet,” I said to Poo.
“Yeah, right,” said Poo to Me.
So I bought a small potty, all shiny and new.
“Yep, it’s a potty all right,” said Poo.
“You wouldn’t want me to ruin it, true?
I’ll leave it alone,” said Poo, said he.
“It will stay clean,” said Poo.

“Are you frightened of potties?” I asked of Poo.
“That’s right,” said Poo to Me.
I’m not afraid,” I said to Poo,
I held his hand and said, “You try, too!”
“Silly old mommy!”–and off he flew.
“I wasn’t afraid,” said Poo, said he,
“The seat was just cold,” said Poo.

So, wherever I am, there’s always Poo,
There’s always Poo with Me.
“What would I do,” I asked of Poo,
“If not changing you?” and Poo said: “True,
There wouldn’t be anything left to do.
I’m stickin’ around,” says Poo, says he.
“I am your life,” says Poo.

 

My sincerest apologies to A. A. Milne for what I just did to the poem, Us Two.

3 Comments

Filed under A Scary Look into My Mind, Daily Life, Just for Fun, Kids, Potty Training

3 responses to “Number Two

  1. Its funny, but sadly true! I am SOOOOOO glad I am done with potty training! I wouldn’t go back to those days for ANYTHING! šŸ˜‰ Enjoy.

  2. This subject just came up in Relief Society this morning… acknowledged as difficult for those going through it, who think their lives will be so much easier when (all) the kids are finished. The next steps are also interesting… forewarned is forearmed. LOL

Leave a Reply

