I Sense a Disturbance in the Force

At almost halfway through my Thirty Days of Thankfulness, I’m beginning to notice something curious. Since I have been focusing on the things that I am grateful for, I have been hesitant to say anything that would seem negative and, therefore, spoil that feeling of gratitude.

And I’m starting to go crazy.

Yep, I’ll admit it. I can’t make it a whole month without a little self-indulgent whining on my blog. If it makes me sound any less pathetic, I have always used my blog as a form of self therapy. If I put it all out here, I am more able to function in real life. So, you will forgive me if I start slipping some reality back in with my gratitude. Just remember, my children will benefit from it. And you’ll be less likely to find me in the fetal position in some corner.

I can already feel balance being restored to my universe.

Today, I am Thankful For:

  1. A mother who is thoughtful enough to offer to watch my children so that I could get a flu shot. I didn’t take her up on it, since I’m not a fan of immunizations (I cringe every time my kids get shots). So, if I’m hacking and miserable in a month or so, I can at least take comfort in the fact that she offered.
  2. Pumpkins. Do you know how much mileage you can get out of one of those things when you have boys? First, they were decorated with knock-off Mr. Potato Head pieces. Then, we had pumpkin races down the hill. Today, they were bashed open, scooped out, and filled with dirt. And I got an hour of peace and quiet.
  3. The fact that my husband understands that sometimes, the best gift he can give me is to take the kids through the drive-thru at McDonalds for ice cream just so I can have fifteen minutes to regain my sanity.
  4. Hydrocortisone cream. This is already proving to be a bad eczema year for me.
  5. The opportunity that I have to work with the teenage girls at church. We have such great girls, and they are at such an important period of their lives. I love being involved with them.
4 Comments

Filed under A Scary Look into My Mind, Daily Life, Kids, NaBloPoMo, Thirty Days of Thankfulness

4 responses to “I Sense a Disturbance in the Force

  1. You’re doing great! I, on the other hand, have all but given up. This junk with the school district has me out of my thankful mojo. There was more junk today, but I’m waiting until tomorrow to blog about it because I’m REALLY starting to sound like a whiner. ;>)

  2. Nicole

    I think it’s healthy to vent sometimes, as long as you keep it in perspective. Plus, your readers can relate to you better than if you were to put on a mask and pretend that EVERYTHING in life is just perfect. It resonates with people when you lay it all out. So thanks for being real. šŸ™‚

  3. jenn

    I love reading about the simple things that you are thankful for in your life. Although they are simple, they are important and help our lives run more smoothly.

  4. Jenn, you have no idea how much your comment made me chuckle. I have stopped myself a few times from including my plunger in my list of things that I am thankful for. I’d happily include Metamucil, but try selling that concept to a preschooler!

Leave a Reply

