I Think, Therefore I Discuss Bodily Functions

It is amazing how different potty training can be from one child to the next. I remember long, protracted battles with N~ and W~. I remember wondering why the heck I was spending extra money on Pull-ups that were being used as super-cool, big boy diapers. I remember months of wanting to bang my head against any hard surface until I finally hit “mean Mommy” mode, threatening to never give out chocolate milk again until something made contact with toilet water. All of this with little boys who were super excited about wearing underwear, if only for the fifteen minutes before they had an accident in it.

Then, there is C~. A week or so ago, I decided it was time to get serious about potty training with him. I thought I would get him excited by offering to let him put on some big boy underwear like his brothers wear.

He wasn’t excited.

Actually, he stood in the hallway, naked from the waste down, tears streaming down his face and yelling something about not robbing him of his baby status. Well, maybe not in so many words, but that was definitely the gist of it. C~ has a death grip on babyhood.

I did get him in some underwear, though, and we went through his entire supply that day.

We took a step back to pull-ups and started setting the timer for every twenty minutes or so, with a fair amount of success. The next day, I was setting the timer for every half-hour. Accept it wasn’t working. Well, not like expected. He wasn’t going potty when the timer went off. This is because he was coming to me every fifteen minutes or so to tell me that he needed to pee.

And he would.

I haven’t set the timer since then. He has had very few accidents (at least of the liquid variety–we do have a more solid hurdle to clear still). I’m flabbergasted. And grateful.

And the best thing? C~ thinks that this is the coolest thing ever. Even though he is completely self-sufficient, he still tells me every time he goes, and gets the biggest grin on his face when I tell him how proud I am of him. Seriously, I don’t think I have ever seen him get so excited. It’s awesome.

*****************************

In other news, I submit for your review the most illogical idea ever (just don’t tell my husband I’m picking on him, ok?).

One of our sons has an issue sometimes with bed wetting (I know this is normal–I had a brother who had a problem with it until he was about nine). This week has been worse than normal.

As Sean and I were discussing the likelihood that his bad attitude this week is related to the accidents, Sean expressed that he thought keeping him warmer might help (don’t ask me why he thought this would help).

“Maybe we should buy him an electric blanket,” Sean said to me.

“Um, do think that maybe an electric blanket might not be the best choice for a child who wets the bed?” I asked.

Maybe it’s just me, but (even with the safety measures I’m sure they take) mixing electrical currents and bodily fluids just doesn’t sound wise. Heck, maybe we could just let him sleep with a running hair drier. Next to the toilet.

6 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Kids, Potty Training

6 responses to “I Think, Therefore I Discuss Bodily Functions

  1. I am SOOOO glad I’m done with the potty training thing. I was a horrible potty trainer. The worst. Ever. All of my kids were over three by the time they were trained…and both of my girls were pushing four.
    See? I told you I was bad?!
    Ummm…yea. The electric blanket? Not such a good idea. I, too, have a boy with night time issues. If you have any suggestions other than the limit fluids, take them to the doctor and don’t let them drink any milk ones, I sure would appreciate it. We’ve tried absolutely everything…and I’m at my wits end. And we’re past the point of waiting. We’ve waited. Ad naseum.

  2. Anna was 3 1/2 when she FINALLY became potty trained…that is a victory that I will always remember. :o)

  3. Tami,

    I wish I had a solution (oh, how I wish I had a solution!). I know that my brother eventually grew out of it, and he would have an accident every. single. night. (hmmmm…good thing he doesn’t read my blog 😉 ). But, like I said, he was about nine years old when that finally happened.

  4. Nancy

    Congratulate C~ for me. What a great kid!

    As far as the night time “issues,” there are mattress pads on the market that sound an alarm when they become wet – like just a few drops wet. They apparently work by waking the child during the act, which trains him to “feel” the need.

    You’re welcome.

    (I wouldn’t worry about it yet, though. He is still pretty young.)

  5. Cindy

    My son was 6 or 7 before he stopped having accidents. I tried almost everything. It runs in the family also. I finally decided it was not worth changing sheets every morning (or sometimes during the middle of the night). That only frustrated us all. I just continued to buy Pull-ups. Finally when he was 7 (I think)…we ran out of Pull-ups and I didn’t know it until bedtime. I didn’t want to go to the store so I just told him I was not going to buy them anymore. That was the end of it. For a long time he didn’t have the control to wake up and go to the bathroom or sleep through it. We just had to wait it out. There are worse things. I would not stress about it.

  6. Pingback: Talking with My Mouth Full « Mixed Nuts

Leave a Reply

