Fa La Blahs

Tonight was our annual youth activity where we went Christmas caroling at a nursing home.

Before we left the church, there was a brief discussion wherein the kids were asked the difference between being light-hearted and light-minded (basically, the difference between having fun and acting stupid). The kids were encouraged to enjoy the caroling, but take the experience seriously.

We got to the nursing home and walked in the front door. Several of the young (and adult) men started making quiet comments about the strange “old people” smell.

They had no idea.

And they will never have a clue, because they will never have a uterus. Or a tiny inhabitant therein. I tiny inhabitant that made EVERY SINGLE THING, including the twelve-year-old boys, smell like the WORST SMELL EVER.

While everyone else spent the next hour enjoying the truly wonderful experience, I cough/gagged my way through the songs as each new hallway brought a different odor. The cough/gag was my only defense because, while I don’t think it would have qualified as acting light-minded, I doubt that puking in the middle of God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen would have made me popular.

At one point, we passed a nurse’s aide with one of those little trolley carts. It took every ounce of self-control to not beat her up for her pitcher of ice water.

Ah, the joys of the first trimester.

Thanks to the morning sickness, my parents now know the news. I woke up yesterday morning to find out that all of my Fresca was gone. Clueless husband–that was my best defense against the green nasties. I called my mom and asked her if she had any soda since I had “a bit of an upset stomach.”

“Sure. Are you coming down with something?”

I tried to play it cool and told her that I was just feeling a little off. Nothing big.

“Morning sickness?” she joked.

What am I supposed to say at that point?

“Um, yeah.”

Her response?

“How the heck did that happen? I mean, I know how it happens, but…”

I sure hope she knows how it happens. Because she was pregnant six times. And, for those of you keeping track at home, that still beats me by two.

5 Comments

Filed under Holidays, pregnancy

5 responses to “Fa La Blahs

  1. eeek! Congrats!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Congratulations!!!! That’s awesome! I know you’re nervous about them being so close together but what an awesome blessing! 🙂

  3. Nicole

    Woo-hoo!! Sorry about that nursing home trip! I didn’t even think about it, until I saw the relief in your face as soon as we were finished! Somehow, you still were able to sing beautifully! Hope the morning sickness subsides soon! (And thanks to Sean for the warning!) 😉

Leave a Reply

