Nothing Happening Here…Tweedle Deedle Dee ;)

Oh, wait, were some of you waiting for an update of some sort? Like, I don’t know, something about an ultrasound?

Yep, that’s right. The big twenty-week ultrasound was this morning. I always laugh when the techs ask me if I want to know the gender if they can see it. Only once have I said that I had no intention of getting off of the table until they told me—but I’ve thought it every time. No freakin’ way I’m going anywhere until I know what to plan for.

Which is why I was a bit concerned when the tech went to look and announced, all too cheerily, that the baby had its hand between its legs.

Grrrr…

Fortunately, she wasn’t going to leave it at that, either. Another minute and a few angles later, she told me what she didn’t see…

Of course, that didn’t have me entirely convinced. Another minute or two, a better angle, and we were able to see for certain…

 

It’s a Girl!!!

 

Yeah, I’m a little excited. Luckily for the tech, I don’t react quite how Noah did when I delivered the news to him. Jumping. Screaming. Hugging. Sheer jubilation. That boy has wanted a little sister for quite a while now.

I wasn’t able to leave the ultrasound quite as jubilant as I would have preferred, though. The tech saw a couple of things that got us an additional looky-loo  by a doctor, and then a consultation in her office.

Basically, the baby has an echogenic bowel and an echogenic spot in her heart. Each, by itself, wouldn’t be considered a big deal. Except they can both be considered “soft” markers for Down Syndrome. In addition, the nuchal fold thickness, while within normal range, was just barely there. Same for the length of the bone in the nose. Again, possible markers for Down’s.

She recommended some possible testing. I am going to do the blood tests (to rule out other causes for the echogenic bowel) and another ultrasound in a month, but not the amnio. I am not comfortable with taking the risk involved when I wouldn’t consider terminating the pregnancy, anyhow.

Thankfully, I had an appointment with my OB right after the ultrasound. We talked about what they saw, what they recommended, and what I was comfortable with. He stressed to me the fact that they saw soft markers—all of the things that would be considered hard markers were absolutely normal. Basically, based on what they saw, my risk for her having Down Syndrome has gone from 1 in 500 to about 1%. Now, I’m no mathematician, but if my government school education serves me well, that means there is a 99% chance that my daughter is just fine. And that is the stance that my OB is taking, too. He said that, as far as he is concerned, we are treating this like a normal pregnancy, except for doing an additional ultrasound. He anticipates a positive outcome.

Still, prayers are appreciated.

And that is the only reason I even mention it. Honestly, Sean is a very private person and would prefer that it not be “out there.” He agreed to let me put it here after I told him what a comfort it was to me to know that so many people were praying for us after the car crash. But, for those who know us in real life, please leave all questions, comments, or discussion about it here. For heaven’s sake, don’t talk to him about it. I promise that I’ll put stuff here when we have anymore information.

And, really, I expect to have positive news.

In the meantime, I’m having a daughter! I’m still wrapping my head around that.

10 Comments

Filed under Kids, My Journey to Motherhood, pregnancy, Scary Bits of Life

10 responses to “Nothing Happening Here…Tweedle Deedle Dee ;)

  1. Jana

    With E we had the same ultra sound results, except there was no nasal bone that they could see and the nuchal fold was not in the normal range. That put the probablity for Down’s closer to 20% than 1. I understand your anxiety and fears. We will be praying for you. And congratulations on being able to think pink!

  2. Cindy

    So so so so so so so excited for you.
    We will also keep you in our prayers.

  3. I’m so excited for you. There is nothing like a daughter. It satisfies something deep that nothing else can! Everything will be fine.

  4. I am thrilled for you! Continued prayers for you and the wee one!

  5. First CONGRATS on the daughter! EEK! PINK!!!

    Second, my middle son had soft markers too and I actually did do the amnio but he was totally fine. You are so right, the odds are incredibly in your favor thta your baby girl is perfectly healthy. Still hopefully they can confirm that for you at the next U/S and with the blood test.

  6. I prefer purple, but pink is acceptable. 😉 Congratulations on your girly news!

  7. YAY!!!!!!! A girl!!!!!!

    SO happy for you and of course, you are in my prayers.

  8. Wooohoooo!!!! A girl! I was hoping for a girl! I mean a boy would have been absolutely wonderful…but a GIRL! 🙂 YIPEE!
    We’ll definitely keep you a little pink in our prayers. 😉

  9. Christina

    Congratulations!! What absolute fun you will have shopping for all things PINK! 🙂
    And of course I’ll keep your tiny one in my prayers – knowing that God has had His hand on her from the very moment she was formed and His plans are always for good!!
    Blessings and Congrats!!

  10. tenure.track.mommy

    Just a quick note to say that my baby girl also had this finding on our 20 week u/s and we also opted out of the amnio. I am 36 weeks right now and am sure that everything is fine with my baby girl. My perinatologist explained that echogenic foci are very common findings in normal babies. Hope your pregnancy is going well!

Leave a Reply

