Holy Roll(er)s

One of my favorite parts about reading blogs is getting great ideas from people who are better at entertaining their children than I am. So I was thrilled (THRILLED!) when I read this idea on Julie’s blog today:

Needed:

  • Large Marshmallows
  • Melted Butter
  • Cinnamon & Sugar Mix
  • Crescent Roll
  • Oven
  • Cavity in bun

Directions:

  1. Take a marshmallow. This represents Jesus.
  2. Dip the marshmallow in melted butter. This represents the oils of embalming.
  3. Now dip the buttered marshmallow in the cinnamon and sugar which represents the spices used to anoint the body.
  4. Then wrap up the coated marshmallow tightly in the crescent roll (not like a typical crescent roll up but bring the sides up and seal the marshmallow inside.) This can either represent the wrapping of Jesus’ body after death or the Tomb. Matt. 27:57–61; John 19:38–42
  5. Place in a 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes or as directed on the package of the crescent rolls. (The oven can represent the tomb if the roll is representing the wrapping—pretend like it was three days!) Take the role of the guards at Jesus’ tomb. Stand guard at the oven.
  6. Let the rolls cool slightly. Open your crescent rolls and discover that Jesus is no longer there, HE IS RISEN!!!! (The marshmallow melts and the crescent roll is puffed up, but empty.)
  7. Jesus is Risen! Now read Matthew 28:5-8; Mark 16:4-8; Luke 24:1-6; John 20:1-18; Isaiah 25:8

I decided to do it with my kids for Family Home Evening tonight (and will be doing it this weekend for an Easter activity with my siblings’ kids).

I must say that I got nervous when I realized that I hadn’t done a very good job of sealing many of my rolls and saw that several of my “Jesuses” were oozing from the tomb in a gooey mess. But, when it was all said and done, everything worked like it was supposed to, the tombs were empty, and the rolls were delicious.

As I opened the first roll, I asked the kids if they knew where Jesus had gone. Wyatt looked at me and said, “He melted.” Um, yeah, you can’t really pull one over on that kid.

Of course, Sean had warned me that would happen as soon as I explained the idea to him. He laughed and said, “I thought that’s what happened to the bad people—they get put in the oven for eternity.”

After eating our “Jesus rolls” (Holy Rollers?), we moved on to the anticipated craft for the evening. This was brought to us by Wyatt, who has this amazing knack to find additional stuff on games and DVD’s. The other day, he found his way into the special features on a Veggie Tales DVD. After carefully pausing it (he always pauses to make sure I don’t miss anything—even if it’s just to show me an infomercial for something we JUST! MUST! HAVE!), he drug me back to the TV to show me instructions on how to make a sock puppet.

Sigh.

It’s not that I don’t understand the appeal of a sock puppet. And I instantly promised to help him make one. I even took the kids all shopping with me so they could pick out cool socks and their favorite colors of yarn. It’s just, well, my kids aren’t old enough to actually operate a hot glue gun. Or be trusted with a needle to sew on hair. So, basically, that translated into me trying to make three puppets as fast as I humanly could while three little kids bounced around me saying, “NO! Do mine next! Hey, that was MY hair! Where did my eye go? Is it ready yet???” Yeah, lots of fun.

But my kids now have sock puppets. And they are thrilled. So I’m happy.

Motherhood is an amazing thing.

5 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Family Home Evening, Kids, Parenting

5 responses to “Holy Roll(er)s

  1. I am SO doing this!

    Very, very cool, and thanks for sharing!

    jody

  2. What a fun idea! 🙂

  3. This made me LAUGH. HARD. We didn’t get to do ours with round 1 million of The Sick. Plus, I thought I had large marshmallows, and I didn’t. I did have bright blue peeps, however. I thought about using them, but I don’t know about the whole Jesus-peep thing. 🙂

  4. Nicole

    What a great mom you are!! That sounds like a fun (and yummy) memory for the kids. 🙂

Leave a Reply

