Gratitude

Last year, I made a challenge to myself to spend the month of November focusing on gratitude. I decided to do Thirty Days of Thankfulness on this blog by listing five things that I was grateful for each day. It was not always easy, but it was an incredibly positive experience for me.

About a month after finishing my challenge, my family was in a horrible car accident. In some small way, I wondered if part of the miraculous protection that we received was tied to the gratitude I was feeling for all that I have.

This year, I will again do my Thirty Days of Thankfulness. With all of the challenges that our country is currently facing, I think that we could all benefit from remembering just how blessed we really are—even when times are tough. I would love to have others join me (leave a comment if you decide to so I can make sure and check in on what you are grateful for each day!). Of course, I missed the first day, but not because I wasn’t thinking about it. I just had a certain three-month-old baby refusing to sleep anywhere other than on me (the story of my life and the reason this blog has been rather quiet lately). So, today, you get ten things that I am thankful for.

Today, I am thankful for:

  1. The opportunity to finally raise a daughter.
  2. The joy of raising four sons.
  3. The baby giggles that just began this week.
  4. The fact that tomorrow is election day and, therefore, the last day that my mother will be consumed with reelection (I bet none of you had your kids handing out political literature as they were trick-or-treating, but I sure did!).
  5. The progress I am making on decluttering and organizing my home (even if I still have a long way to go).
  6. A husband who loves and believes in me.
  7. Religious beliefs that help me keep perspective as uncertainty swirls in the world around me.
  8. The unbridled laughter that ensues when four little boys have access to whoopie cushions.
  9. My husbands grandmother, who comes over twice a week to help me out however she can.
  10. The fact that I have a healthy family—may it always be so.
4 Comments

Filed under Daily Life, Gratitude, NaBloPoMo, Thirty Days of Thankfulness

4 responses to “Gratitude

  1. I am going to list one thing I am thankful for each day this month. 🙂

  2. I’m with you, but I too am only doing one thing. (and so far I’ve been a little flippant about it). I plan on getting a little more serious about it…once I get this onion smell out of my house. 😉

  3. I think I need to do this this year. It’s been a tough year over all and I know I’ve not been one to always focus in the positive. Thanks for the nudge.

  4. It’s a good thing to do. Good luck. I hope your list overflows everyday.

Leave a Reply

