On Having a Daughter

I am now three months into being the mother of a daughter. Since Violet was born, I have regularly had people ask me if it is different having a daughter. I have avoided the urge to respond, “Only when I’m changing her diaper.” I mean, she’s still a little lump of a baby (a very cute lump, but a lump nonetheless).

And then, a week or two ago, it happened. I projected.

I innocently clicked on an add for Rebecca, the Jewish American Girls doll from New York City. OK, maybe it wasn’t innocent when I first did it. I have, in the past, found great humor in the American Girls dolls. Especially after I found out that they currently have an American Girl named Gwen who is homeless. Which means that she is probably petitioning Congress to tax the 70’s Girls’ (Julie and Ivy) incomes more heavily to pay for universal health care. Which probably has Molly and Emily (the World War II dolls) worried since Medicare is all but bankrupt and they might not get the same level of care that they are used to if the government is more concerned with keeping the younger dolls healthy. But don’t worry, Rebecca will probably throw together a televised benefit to raise awareness of the health crisis in this country.

So, anyhow, $95 for a doll has always seemed rather extreme to me.

But I got into that site and started clicking around. I found the “Just Like You” dolls that don’t have any historical significance attached to them. Then I saw this one:

american girl doll

 

And I could picture it being the doll that would be the most to look like my little girl when she got a bit older. Then, suddenly, I wanted it. Not because my three-month-old could give a rat’s patoot about ANY dolls. Or because I’m irrational enough to think that $95 is suddenly reasonable. But because it is the COOL doll to have, and I can relate to wanting the COOL doll (not that she does, but someday she will—whether this is still the cool one or not).

You see, I still have vivid memories of the Cabbage Patch Kids craze. I can remember when I was, oh, probably eight or nine years old. My little brother was young enough not to know that dolls aren’t “boy” toys, and old enough to want one. My sister was old enough that my mom thought she was too old to be interested in dolls still, and young enough to resent it when she wasn’t given one. So, yeah, probably eight or nine.

We were visiting my grandparents. My mom and sister had gone shopping together and left me at the house with my grandparents. While they were at the store, a new display of Cabbage Patch Kids was brought out. This was in the height of the craze, when entire displays disappeared within minutes of being brought out. Right place, right time. My mom grabbed two, one for me and one for my brother. I still remember how completely and overwhelmingly excited I was that my mother brought that doll home to me that night. I had something special.

Now I want that for my daughter. I may still have to wait a few years.

 

Today, I am thankful for:

  1. The local children’s museum. My kids love that place. And I love being able to go to a great big building full of things that my children are ALLOWED to touch.
  2. Corell dishes. Goodness knows how many plates I would have bought by now if it weren’t for those indestructible little gems.
  3. Noah’s frequently short attention span (at least on this one), which will probably kick in long before he actually achieves the coveted Corbin Bleu look.
    corbin bleu
  4. Roots. At the museum today, we ran into two different families that we know. My mother-in-law commented that every time she goes someplace with me, we run into at least one person that I know. Really, that’s pretty accurate. That’s what happens when you live in the same area the vast majority of your life. And it is really comforting for me. I wouldn’t do well with having to move around a lot.
  5. Naps. After an over six year stream of constant babies, it is really pretty amazing that I’m able to form any type of coherent thought. If it weren’t for naps, there is no way that would happen. Besides, what could be better than curling up under a warm quilt on a chilly autumn afternoon?
2 Comments

Filed under Gratitude, NaBloPoMo, Thirty Days of Thankfulness

2 responses to “On Having a Daughter

  1. Nothing could be better than curling up under a warm quilt on a chilly autumn afternoon. 🙂

  2. Hey I didn’t know you have a blog! Having kids makes you do things you seriously never thought you would do but it all turns out okay in the end right?

Leave a Reply

