Let’s Just Call it 9 1/2 Things I’m Thankful For

Yes, I failed to post five things that I was grateful for last night. Not that I hadn’t thought about them. It was just a side effect of several nights of a baby not wanting to sleep worth a darn. Truth be told, I almost skipped tonight, too, for the same reason. I lay down with Violet to get her to sleep, then my brain turns to goo and I’m worthless for the rest of the night. Blah.

To be fair, I will give you ten tonight.

Today, I am thankful for:

  1. The brave men and women (past and present) who fight to preserve our country’s freedom (including my father who served in Vietnam and my father-in-law who served in the Persian Gulf).
  2. The husbands and wives who stay behind while their spouses serve. I have a lot of friends in the military, and it never fails to amaze me the strength and patience of those spouses as they move from base to base and worry for the safety of their deployed loved ones. They are heroes, too.
  3. A night off from my normal Wednesday night scouts. Not that the boys aren’t fun. It’s just nice to get a night off.
  4. My husband’s creativity in supplementing our income.
    IMG_3131
    It may not be pretty, but it seems to have one heck of a plow there on the front. This may be the first time ever that I’m hoping for a snowy winter.
  5. An opportunity to curl up with Wyatt and read a book. It is hard for me to get one on one time with my kids outside of their school time (which isn’t the same). Wyatt especially seems to crave it and really reacts to even a bit of time with just him. I’m glad we got some tonight.
  6. The fact that my little boys like watching Mythbusters with me. There is joy in sharing the geekdom. Now, I just have to hope that they don’t have nightmares about shattering frozen heads.
  7. Chocolate chip cookies (even if they do nothing for my desire to lose the baby weight).
  8. The sweet prayers that my little boys offer. It is so amazing how thoughtful and (sometimes) even profound such young children can be.
  9. Getting to sleep in a bit later than usual (especially when the baby woke me up every hour or so throughout the night).
  10. The fact that this is the last thing I need to think of to be thankful for. I know…lame copout. But I’m tired. And my brain is mush. And now the baby is crying. Goodnight!
Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude, NaBloPoMo, Thirty Days of Thankfulness

Leave a Reply

