Unintended Consequences

A little under a year ago, my family and I were in a bad car accident. You are, of course, shocked by this revelation since I NEVER mention it here. And I haven’t changed my reckoning of time into BCA (before car accident) and ACA (after car accident. Nope. Hasn’t effected my life at all. (Holy crap, only six more weeks until I have to make that drive to Florida again. This may be a GREAT time to take up alcoholism as a hobby.)

Where was I? Oh yeah. We were in a car accident.

For those who don’t remember, I was the only one in my family who was really noticeably injured in that accident. I still have a large scar on my chest and a smaller scar between my eyebrows. It’s that smaller scar that I have been self-conscious about. Mainly because it had a raised lump on it. And who wants a lumpy face? My doctor said the lump came from a less than stellar stitch-up job by the ER doctors (have I mentioned that I’m not overly trusting or fond of doctors?).

So, you know how I said that I’m on an antibiotic right now? Interesting thing—since I started taking it, the lump on my scar has shrunk. It isn’t entirely gone, but it is almost flat now.

Basically,  it would appear that my doctor was wrong (which still leaves me distrustful and not fond of doctors). I’m guessing that the lump wasn’t from a bad stitch job. I’m guessing (and by “guessing” I mean it seems pretty darn obvious at this point) that the lump was a spot of infection. Which would go along with the fact that there was originally another little lump that I knew was infection because it came out early on.

So today, I am thankful for the UTI that fixed the lumpy scar on my face. Because that isn’t at all an awkward concept.

 

Today, I’m thankful for:

  1. See above.
  2. The fact that Sean got a great deal on a salt spreader. We now have a truck with a snow plow and a spreader that holds 700 lbs of salt at a time. He and his brother are already quoting businesses and getting residential business. Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow!
  3. The guardian angels that obviously must do overtime on my children. Because the crazy things my kids come up with? There is definitely some divine intervention going on there.
  4. The fact that I get to go to my friend’s Twilight party tomorrow night. Not that I plan on going to the movie. But after the day I had today? Running away for the evening and hanging out with other women? Bring. It. On.
  5. Having my mother next door and her willingness to watch the kids for a bit so I can do things like taking the cat to the vet without them.
1 Comment

Filed under Gratitude, just plain bizarre, NaBloPoMo, Thirty Days of Thankfulness

One response to “Unintended Consequences

  1. Christina

    I imagine you are looking forward to that trip to Florida about as much as I would look forward to jumping back in the ocean. I’ll be praying for you.

    I’m with you on the doctor dis-trust. (mine extends to pretty much anyone whose name begins with “doctor” – optomitrists, dentists… I don’t play favorites). But hey, how cool that God used something icky like a UTI to take care of that little lump?

Leave a Reply

