Giving Thanks

Today, I am thankful for:

  1. A wonderful day in a house full of family. And LOTS OF KIDS to entertain my children for me.
  2. Tons of family members who wanted to hold and interact with the baby. And the fact that Violet didn’t scream at them when they tried.
  3. That Noah got to see his cousins’ new brother (who isn’t actually related to him—it’s complicated).  He came running to me and said, “Mommy, Conner is so cute! He’s BLACK!” Lately, the fact that Noah looks different from us has become more of an issue for him. I don’t think that it is a horrible issue, and we have talked about it, but he still makes comments about not looking like anyone else. I think that seeing that his white cousins have a biracial brother like he is maybe made him feel like his family was a little less odd. (For some reason, the fact that he has two Asian cousins in an otherwise white family doesn’t seem to make much of a difference for him.)
  4. My education. Even though on some days I feel like my brain will come seeping out of my ears if I am subjected to another episode of SpongeBob Square Pants (oh, WHERE did my resolve to never allow that drivel in my house go???), I am so glad that I had the opportunity to stretch my mind and earn a degree.
  5. My support system. Not only do I have a lot of people in my life who I know are there for me, I have a lot of people who I may never even have the pleasure of meeting in real life who respond and support me here. I especially felt that back in January when so many of you offered prayers and well-wishes after our car accident. It was just amazing to know that you all knew what had happened and were wishing us well before we even got home. Really, really amazing.
  6. My country, my religion, and my freedom to freely practice my beliefs as I see fit.
Leave a comment

Filed under Gratitude, Kids, NaNoBloMo, Thirty Days of Thankfulness

Leave a Reply

