Part of Something Bigger

I sit here, staring at my screen, knowing that what I’m about to type is a horrible contradiction. That, in some ways, this entire website is a horrible contradiction.

For a very long time, I have been struck by the idea that, as women and mothers, we sell ourselves short. We look around us and, instead of seeing the wonderful, amazing things that we do, we just see all that we HAVEN’T accomplished. The ways that our friends and neighbors do better than us. The goals we haven’t reached. The impossible ideals that we have failed to meet.

When I was a kid, I decided to write down my ideas of what would someday make me a good mother. I wish I could find the journal that I put it in. All I can remember now is that I wanted to start teaching my kids the piano from infancy so they would learn it just like they learned to talk. When Noah was born, I did try to put that theory into practice. And you know what? Babies don’t do scales. Unless they are prodigies. And mine aren’t.

 

Read the rest of my explanation for moving my blog at Grimm Realities

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

